Government has established testing procedure upon arrival in Estonia from countries with a high risk of coronavirus infection

Stenbock House, 13 January 2021 – At the meeting held by means of communication, the Government approved an order establishing the procedure for pre-entry and post-entry testing upon entering Estonia from a country with a high risk of coronavirus infection.

This procedure will take effect on 15 January, requiring people who do not want to stay in self-imposed isolation for ten days after arriving in Estonia to perform a coronavirus PCR test up to 72 hours before arrival in the country. While staying in Estonia, it is then possible to take a second test not earlier than on the sixth day after the first test taken abroad. A person is released from the ten-day isolation obligation prematurely if the results of both tests are negative.

Those who have not taken the test up to 72 hours before arriving in Estonia have the option to take the first test in Estonia immediately after arriving in the country and the second test not earlier than six days after taking the first test. The ten-day isolation may be ended prematurely if the results of both tests are negative.

In addition, the Government decided to raise the infection rate limit of foreign countries, establishing the threshold for self-isolation upon arrival in the country. From 15 January, those arriving in Estonia (including Estonian citizens and residents) and coming from European countries with a cumulative number of positive virus tests of more than 150 per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days have to stay in isolation. The obligation of self-isolation does not extend to cases where the relevant figure is less than 150.

Regional differences

The Government decided to harmonise the testing times for travelling between Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Finland with other countries. Upon arriving from Latvia, Lithuania, and Finland, it is also required to take a test up to 72 hours before arrival in the country if exemption from isolation is requested.

Other exceptions from the isolation and testing obligation, including, for example, the difference between Valga and Valka, will continue to apply to travelling between Estonia, Finland, Latvia, and Lithuania.

According to the changes, from 15 January, arrivals from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland will have an isolation period of ten days and testing obligation. After the first negative test result, they are not allowed to perform unavoidable work duties, however, they are allowed to participate in an unavoidable family event. Children under the age of 12 are exempt from testing.

The Government Communication Unit publishes the order and explanatory memorandum on the website at