Estonia and Norway

The Kingdom of Norway recognised the Republic of Estonia de jure on 5 February 1921. Norway never recognised the illegal annexation of the Baltic states by the Soviet Union and after the Second World War some Estonian honorary consulates in Norway continued functioning. Diplomatic relations were re-established on 27 August 1991. In the autumn of 1991, Norway opened its Embassy in Tallinn and Brit Løvseth arrived as the first ambassador. Current Norwegian Ambassador Dagfinn Sørli presented his credentials to President Toomas Hendrik Ilves on September 18, 2014.

In February 1994, Estonia opened its embassy in Oslo under the direction of Chargé d’Affaires a.i. Tiit Naber. From 1997 to 2000, Enno Turmen worked as the Chargé d’Affaires a.i. in Oslo, while Ambassador Jüri Kahn resided in Copenhagen. Since 2000, the Estonia Ambassador has resided in Oslo. From 2000-2004, the Estonian ambassador in Norway was Peep Jahilo, from September 2004 until July 2008 the ambassador was Juhan Haravee. From January 2009 until July 2012 the Estonian ambassador was Arti Hilpus and from September 2012 until August 2016 Simmu Tiik. Currently the Estonian ambassador to Norway is Janne Jõesaar-Ruusalu, who presented her credentials to King of Norway Harald V on 22 September 2016.

Estonia is also represented in Norway by six honorary consuls – Trond Bernhard Brekke in Trondheim, Per Trygve Kongsnes in Tromsø, Reidar and Oscar Maaseide in Stavanger, Eivind Lund in Kristiansand and Karin Ellis in Bergen.

For more information about bilateral relations of Estonia and Norway, please visit website of Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia.